Golf Houston Club

You are here: Home Blog Inturact The Shell Houston Open, Past and Future

Google News

Golf Blog, News & Lessons

Houston Golf News, Houston Golf Lessons, Golf Interviews, and everything golf.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Archives
    Archives Contains a list of blog posts that were created previously.

The Shell Houston Open, Past and Future

  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print

An annual event that always creates excitement in Houston is the Shell Houston Open, to be hosted again on March 26, 2012. It is sure to be a weekend of fantastic golfing entertainment. 

Spectators will go to Redstone Golf Club to see the golfers take part in the competition. Many will take a break from their everyday lives to attend the event, whether they are missing out on parties, regular get-togethers, or activities such as party poker
. Tickets will sell fast and golf enthusiasts will not want to miss this event. 

This competition has been held in many different locations, beginning at the River Oaks Country Club in 1946. It then moved on to the Memorial Park Golf Course for a year in 1947, before changing yet again, to Pine Forest Country Club. There was even more moving around, from the BreaBurn Country Club to a longer time spent at Memorial Park beginning in 1951 and ending in 1963. 

The event continued to move around, to Sharpstown Country Club, Champions Golf Club and Westwood Country Club. It was even held outside of Houston in Missouri in 1973 at Quail Valley Country Club. It finally settled at its current location in 2003, after moving to Texas and back. 

There have been many happy winners at this competition over the years. Two players have even won the tournament three times each. These golfers are Curtis Strange, who won in 1980, 1986 and 1988, and Vijay Singh, who won in 2002, 2004 and 2005. There have been others who have won twice, and it will be interesting to see who comes out top in 2012.


in Blog And News Hits: 2881 0 Comments